Summer 2013 Contact Us

New ASC faculty: A generational transformation

Sunday, July 21, 2013

New faculty (from left): Dolores  Albarracín, Damon Centola, Emily Falk, Sandra González-Bailón,
Guobin Yang, and Victor Pickard

Welcome new faculty members
The Annenberg School for Communication faculty is witnessing a generational transformation.  Last year Dolores Albarracín, Victor Pickard, and Guobin Yang joined the school.  In the past few months Damon Centola, Emily Falk, and Sandra González-Bailón entered our doors.
Beyond stellar reputations, these scholars’ presence on Annenberg’s Standing Faculty contributes enviable expertise to the school. Prof. Pickard, previously on the faculty at New York University, adds to Annenberg’s longstanding strength in media institutions.  Profs. Albarracín, from the University of Illinois, and Falk, from the University of Michigan, enhance the school’s world-class leadership in health communication. Profs. Centola, from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Yang, from Barnard College/Columbia University, and González-Bailón, from the Oxford Internet Institute, push the school further into the forefront of digital-media projects, with Yang and González-Bailón also augmenting our substantial global-media reputation.
“This roster makes me feel secure about the Annenberg School well into the future,” says Joseph Turow, Ph.D., the Robert Lewis Shayon Professor of Communication and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies. “We’ve long had a world class research and teaching faculty with a strong voice to the larger society. These excellent colleagues ensure that will be the case for a long time to come.”

return to NewsLink main page