Mello Elected to GAPSA Board

At Left: Susan Mello

Doctoral student Susan Mello has been elected vice chair for communications to the Graduate And Professional Student Assembly board for 2012 – 2013. Recent GAPSA officers from Annenberg include Tomy Lambino , Lee Shaker (Gr ’08) and Anne-Katrin Arnold.

Dilliplane Receives George Gerbner Post-doctoral Fellowship

Susanna Dilliplane has been awarded a George Gerbner Post-Doctoral fellowship at the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania. Ms. Dilliplane was selected from a field of outstanding recent or soon-to-be Ph.Ds. from Annenberg Penn and the Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism at the University of Southern California.

White Receives Penn Women of Color at Penn Award

Doctoral candidate Khadijah White is the Graduate Student Honoree Award winner for the 2012 Women of Color at Penn (WOCAP). She will receive her award at the 25th annual Women of Color at Penn Day conference on Friday, March 16.  Details are in the Penn Current.

Lapierre's Work Honored by ICA

A paper by Annenberg doctoral candidate Matthew A. Lapierre (co-authored with Jessica Taylor Piotrowski, Ph.D. (Gr ’10) and Deborah L. Linebarger, Ph.D.) has received the top paper award from the Children, Adolescents, and Media Division of the International Communication Association (ICA). The award will be presented during the ICA conference in Phoenix, AZ this May.   Paper title:   “Background Television in Homes with Young Children”   Abstract:   Research has shown the negative consequences associated with children’s exposure to background television.

Szpunar Wins Top Paper Award From ICA

Annenberg doctoral candidate Piotr Szpunar has won the Top Student Paper for the Popular Communication Division of the International Communication Association. He will receive his award at the ICA annual conference in Phoenix, AZ this May.   

Title:   “Even Muslims are Afraid of Islam!The Impossibility of Communicating Moderateness”  

Christian to Edit New Blog About Television

Doctoral candidate Aymar Jean Christian is the editor of the blog Hackitvision, a “smart look at the future of television” presence on the web. The site was created by Josh Braun, a professor at Quinnipiac, and his university is funding and supporting it. I will serve as the site’s editor. The site’s contributors include scholars and practitioners, including Henry Jenkins (USC), Tarleton Gillespie (Cornell), Jean Burgess (QUT) and Liz Miller (NewTeeVee).

Serazio Honored by National Communication Association

Annenberg alumnus Michael Serazio, Ph.D. (Gr ’10) is the recipient of the Gerald R. Miller Dissertation Award from the National Communication Association (NCA). Serazio is currently an Assistant Professor with the Department of Communication at Fairfield University. His dissertation title is “Your Ad Here: The Cool Sell of Guerrilla Marketing.” He will receive his award during the NCA conference in New Orleans in November.  

Alumna Lilach Nir Promoted, Granted Tenure at Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Annenberg alumna Lilach Nir (Ph.D. ‘05) has received tenure and has been promoted to Associate Professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel's top Research 1 university. Nir holds a dual appointment as core faculty in the communication and political science departments at Hebrew University. Her main area of research is political communication and public opinion.


Subscribe to RSS - Alumni