Faculty News, Awards, and Events

Annenberg Presentations at IAMCR 2017

Sixteen Annenberg faculty, students, and visiting scholars will present at the International Association for Media and Communication Research’s 2017 Conference, to be held July 16-20 in Cartagena, Colombia.

The presentations are listed below, and include room location in parentheses. All events are at the Cartagena de Indias Convention Center. For the full program, visit IAMCR’s conference website.

Monday, July 17

8:30 – 10:00

Oxford Publishes Handbook of the Science of Science Communication, Co-edited by Kathleen Hall Jamieson

From vaccinations to climate change, nuclear power to fracking, the weight of scientific evidence and the perceptions of the public are often deeply at odds. Political controversies arise over issues in which the science has long been settled as well as those involving emerging technologies for which the best available evidence is needed as a guide for thoughtful policy decisions. The rapidly changing media environment further complicates the communication of sound science.

Digital Media: Transformations in Human Communication, Second Edition Edited by Paul Messaris and Lee Humphreys (Ph.D. ‘07)

Professor Paul Messaris and alumna Lee Humphreys recently published the second edition of their edited volume Digital Media: Transformations in Human Communication (Peter Lang, 2017).

As the book describes, the advent of digital media has created a world in which the transmission of information is multi-directional. People voluntarily deposit their personal details in publicly accessible databases, and interpersonal relationships are increasingly conducted in the virtual sphere.

Annenberg Faculty, Students, and Alumni Win Divisional Awards at ICA

Numerous Annenberg faculty and alumni won divisional awards this past weekend at the International Communication Association (ICA) 67th Annual Conference in San Diego.

Klaus Krippendorff, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus and the Gregory Bateson Professor of Communication at Annenberg was the inaugural recipient of the ICA Mass Communication Division’s Innovation Award for Methods.

Jordan, Wilkins, and Nabi Inducted as ICA Fellows

Three Annenberg alumnae have been named as Fellows by the International Communication Association. Amy Jordan (Ph.D. ’90), Robin Nabi (Ph.D. ’98), and Karin Wilkins (Ph.D. ’91) were three of the 18 scholars inducted as ICA Fellows on Saturday at ICA’s 2017 Annual Conference in San Diego.

ICA Fellows are chosen by the strength of their distinguished scholarly contributions to the broad field of Communication.


Subscribe to RSS - Faculty News, Awards, and Events