2021 Undergraduate Communication Major Award Winners

Seven students were recognized for their outstanding achievements with awards from the Annenberg School.

On Sunday, May 16, the Annenberg School for Communication held its annual undergraduate graduation ceremony, honoring the Communication majors graduating from the University of Pennsylvania. This year's graduation speaker was alumna Fashina Aladé (C'11). In addition to recognizing each graduate, the following awards were presented.

Hon. Walter H. Annenberg Award: Sia-Linda Mabeh Lebbie and Raven Oluwatoyin Sulaimon
Named in honor of Annenberg’s founder, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major who has most strengthened and improved the University of Pennsylvania’s student community through Communication service activities.

C. Nicole Dickerson Award: Connor Hughes Oxendine Beard
Named in memory of former undergraduate advisor C. Nicole Dickerson, this public service award is given to a graduating Communication major who has made a significant contribution to our neighbors in the West Philadelphia community.

Phyllis C. Kaniss Award: Sophia Rodney and Natalia Christine Rommen
Named in memory of former assistant dean Phyllis C. Kaniss, this award is presented to a graduating Communication major who has demonstrated a commitment to civic participation through meaningful action around issues of public concern, including individual actions or actions undertaken through organizations on or off campus.

George Gerbner Award: Anna Farrell Callahan
Named for former dean George Gerbner, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major whose thesis best demonstrates an original and comprehensive application of research skills as well as a thorough understanding of communication scholarship.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson Award: Jean Chapiro and Connor Hughes Oxendine Beard
Named for former dean Kathleen Hall Jamieson, this award honors a graduating Communication major(s) with the highest cumulative grade point average in the major.

Charles Morris Price Prize: Anna Farrell Callahan
This award acknowledges an outstanding graduating Communication major who has most distinguished themselves through a combination of academic excellence, research accomplishments, and/or contributions to Annenberg’s academic objectives.

The following graduating Communication majors received awards from the University of Pennsylvania and were acknowledged in the graduation program.

CAMRA Fellow
Jean Chapiro

José Miguel Oviedo Award
Jean Chapiro 

Phi Beta Kappa
Jaden Baum
Jean Chapiro
Caitlin E. McNamara

President’s Engagement Prize
Natalia Christine Rommen

Rose Research Award
Anna Farrell Callahan

SAS Dean’s Scholar
Jean Chapiro

Congratulations to the award winners and to all of our 2021 graduates!