Zelizer Becomes a Peabody Awards Judge


Barbie Zelizer, Ph.D., the Raymond Williams Professor of Communication at the Annenberg School for Communication, has been selected to join the Board of the George Foster Peabody Awards program for a three-year term of service.

The Board of the George Foster Peabody Awards comprises 16 individuals, all with special expertise related to electronic media. Producers, journalists, critics, executives, and academics all participate in the effort to determine the very few recipients of the world’s oldest and most prestigious award for electronic media. 

“We are delighted to add Professor Barbie Zelizer to this group,” said Horace Newcomb, director of the George Foster Peabody Awards Board. “As one of the two academic media studies scholars on the board, her wide-ranging perspectives on the social and cultural aspects of contemporary media will add greatly to our deliberations.”

Dr. Zelizer is director of the Scholars Program in Culture and Communication at the Annenberg School, a program dedicated to thinking about critical social and scholarly issues that lie at the intersection of culture and communication. Co-editor and founder of the journal Journalism: Theory, Practice, and Criticism (Sage), her work focuses on the cultural dimensions of journalism, with a specific interest in journalistic authority, collective memory, and journalistic images in times of crisis and war.

She has served on the editorial boards of numerous book series and journals, including Journal of Communication, Communication Theory, Critical Studies in Media Communication, Rhetoric and Public Affairs, Popular Communication, and Critical and Cultural Studies in Communication. Dr. Zelizer also has lectured widely both internationally and nationally, and her essays on the media have appeared in The Nation, Newshour with Jim Lehrer, Newsday, and other publications. 

Dr. Zelizer is Past President of the International Communication Association (ICA), an ICA Fellow, a Guggenheim Fellow, a Research Fellow at the Freedom Forum Media Studies Center, a Fellow at Harvard University's Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics, and Public Policy, and a Fulbright Senior Scholar.