Monroe Price to Receive the C. Edwin Baker Award from the International Communication Association

Portrait of Monroe Price, Annenberg School for Communication

Monroe E. Price, director of the Center for Global Communication Studies at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication, is the 2016 recipient of the C. Edwin Baker Award for the Advancement of Scholarship on Media, Markets and Democracy.

The award is given annually by the Philosophy of Communication and Communication Law and Policy Divisions of the International Communication Association for scholarly and related work that has made a significant contribution to the development, reach, and influence of the field.  

Price’s award recognizes his book, Free Expression, Globalism and the New Strategic Communication (Cambridge University Press, 2014). Building upon themes pioneered by C. Edwin Baker in his masterworks, Price questions how intense strategic flows of information mesh with contemporary theories of press freedom. He explores how states and other powers engender and retain the loyalty of constituents amid radical shifts in technology and geopolitics. It examines case studies of informational politics in Iran, Russia, China, India, and elsewhere.

“Free Expression has already become required reading in Communication graduate programs around the world, a fact that speaks not only to its significance to the field, but also, and perhaps more importantly, to its relevance to a vastly diverse community of students and scholars,” writes Shawn Powers, Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication at Georgia State University.

The award also recognizes Price’s extensive work developing nodes of global communications study and practice. In addition to establishing the Center for Global Communication Studies and serving as a Full Adjunct Professor at Annenberg, Price founded Oxford University’s Programme in Comparative Media Law and Policy and the Center for Data and Media Studies at Central European University. He served as dean of the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law from 1982 to 1991.

The Baker Award was established in 2010 through an endowed fund created from the estate of Professor C. Edwin Baker (1947-2009), who was the Nicholas F. Gallichio Professor of Law and Communication at the University of Pennsylvania Law School and one of the nation’s leading constitutional law and media policy scholars. Baker also held a joint appointment at the Annenberg School for Communications. The award is intended to honor the enormous contribution made by Professor Baker to communications scholarship.

“Ed Baker was a brilliant communication law professor and public scholar who was deeply committed to democratizing our media system,” says Victor Pickard, Associate Professor of Communication at Annenberg. “Cut from the same cloth, Monroe Price has long been at the forefront in grappling with daunting policy questions about media’s democratic role in society. He rightfully belongs within the distinguished group of seminal thinkers who have received this prestigious award.”

Past recipients of the award include James Curran (Goldsmiths, University of London), Robert McChesney (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Daniel Hallin (University of California, San Diego), Yuezhi Zhao (Simon Fraser University), and Janet Wasko (University of Oregon).

The Baker Award will be formally presented to Price in June at the International Communication Association Annual Conference in Fukuoka, Japan.