Job Market Candidates

The following Annenberg doctoral candidates and recent graduates are on the job market:

Recent Graduates

Deepti Chittamuru, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing (current)
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Merced (begins August 2018)

Dissertation Title: Persuasive Technologies and Entertainment-Education To Prevent HIV/AIDS
Faculty Advisors: John B. Jemmott III, Michael X. Delli Carpini, John L. Jackson, Jr., Amy Jordan
cdeepti@gmail.com |​ Website |​ CV

Andrew Daniller, Ph.D.

George Gerbner Postdoctoral Fellow at the Annenberg School for Communication
Dissertation Title: Politics as Sport: The Effects of Partisan Media on Perceptions of Electoral Legitimacy
Faculty Advisors: Diana MutzJoseph N. CappellaMichael X. Delli Carpini
adaniller@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website | CV

Rowan Howard-Williams

Communications Strategy Advisor, Global Diversity Foundation
Dissertation Title: A World of Our Own: Climate Change Advocacy in the Anthropocene
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Guobin Yang
rowanhw@gmail.com | CV

Michelle Jeong, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of North Carolina School of Public Health
Dissertation Title: Sharing in the Context of Tobacco and E-cigarette Communication: Determinants, Consequences, and Contingent Effects
Faculty Advisors: Robert Hornik, Joseph Cappella, Emily Falk
mjeong@email.unc.edu |​ Website | CV​

Jin Woo Kim, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at Dartmouth College
Dissertation Title: Assessing Civic Competence against the Normative Benchmark of Considered Opinions
Faculty Advisors: Michael Delli Carpini, Joseph Cappella, Devra Moehler, Diana Mutz
jin.woo.kim@dartmouth.edu | Website | CV

Minji Kim, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
Dissertation Title: When Similarity Strikes Back: The Positive and Negative Role of Smoker-Audience Similarity in Anti-Smoking Campaigns
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Emily Falk, Robert Hornik, John B. Jemmott III
minji.kim@ucsf.eduWebsite | CV

Tim Libert, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Oxford
Dissertation Title: Track the Planet: A Web-Scale Analysis of How Online Behavioral Advertising Violates Social Norms
Faculty Advisors: Victor Pickard, Joseph Turow, Guobin Yang, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Jonathan M. Smith (Penn Engineering & Computer and Information Science)
tlibert@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Debora Lui, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education
Dissertation Title: Situating Educational Makerspaces: Enacting the Maker ‘Ideal’ within the Diverse Contexts of Public Libraries
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn Marvin, Yasmin Kafai (Penn GSE), John L. Jackson, Jr., Guobin Yang
deblui@gmail.com |​ Website |​ CV

Doron Taussig, Ph.D.

Vartan Gregorian Postdoctoral Fellow at the Annenberg Public Policy Center
Dissertation Title: The Meaning of Merit: The American Idea of What We’ve Earned, What We Deserve, and Whether We Got Lucky
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph Turow, Barbie Zelizer
dtaussig@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Upcoming Graduates

Joshua Becker, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Kellogg School of Management and the Northwestern Institute for Complex Systems, Northwestern University
Dissertation Title: Network Dynamics of Social Influence in the Wisdom of Crowds
Faculty Advisors: Damon Centola, Sandra González-Bailón, Michael X. Delli Carpini
joshua.becker@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Christopher Cimaglio, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: Contested Majority: The Representation of the White Working Class in US Politics from the 1930s to the 1990s
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn MarvinVictor PickardMichael X. Delli Carpini, Thomas Sugrue (NYU)
ccimaglio@asc.upenn.edu 
 |​ Website |​ CV

Rosemary Clark-Parsons

Postdoctoral Fellow, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania (begins August 2018)
Dissertation Title: Doing It Ourselves: The Networked Politics of Feminist Media Activism
Faculty Advisors: Guobin Yang, Victor Pickard, Jessa Lingel, Sarah Banet-Weiser (USC)
rosemary.clark@asc.upenn.edu  |​ Website |​ CV

David Conrad, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: Misguided Benevolence: How 'Moments of Need' Came to Motivate American Journalism
Faculty Advisors: Barbie Zelizer, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph Turow
dconrad@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Katerina Girginova, Ph.D.

Doctoral Fellow, Center for Advanced Research in Global Communication, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: Social Media Events
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Sonia Livingstone (LSE), Guobin Yang, Victor Pickard
katerina.girginova@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Eunji Kim

Joint Ph.D. candidate in Communication and Political Science
Dissertation Title: Entertaining Belief in Economic Mobility
Faculty Advisors: Diana C. Mutz, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Yphtach Lelkes, Daniel J. Hopkins, Matthew Levendusky, Marc Meredith
eunjikim@upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Elissa Kranzler, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Wharton Risk Management and Decision Processes Center, University of Pennsylvania (begins August 2018)
Dissertation Title: From Exposure to Effects: Examining the Cognitive Processes Underlying Effects of "The Real Cost" Youth-Targeted Anti-Smoking Media Campaign
Faculty Advisors: Robert C. Hornik, Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella
elissa.kranzler@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Eleanor Marchant, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: Anyone Anywhere: Narrating African innovation in a global community of practice
Faculty Advisors: John L. Jackson, Jr., Monroe Price, Guobin Yang, Jonathan Donner (Caribou Digital)
emarchant@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Yotam Ophir, Ph.D.

Joan Bossert Postdoctoral Fellow in Science of Science Communication, Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania (begins July 2018)​
Dissertation Title: Spreading News: The Coverage of Pandemics by American Newspapers and its Effects on Audiences -  A Crisis Communication Approach
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Robert Hornik
yotam.ophir@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Aaron Shapiro, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: Design, Control, Predict: Cultural Politics in the Actually Existing Smart City
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn MarvinMarwan M. KraidyJohn L. Jackson, Jr., Jessa Lingel, Mimi Sheller (Drexel)
ashapiro@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Sijia Yang

Dissertation Title: Persuasive Effects of Moral Appeals: Message Production, Social Dynamics
and Misconception Correction
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Damon Centola, Sandra González-Bailón, Michael X. Delli Carpini
syang@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Lori Young

Dissertation Title: Class Opinion Alignment: The Influence of Poverty Discourse on the Political Attitudes and Preferences of Low-Income Citizens
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Joseph N. Cappella, Matthew Brook O’Donnell
lyoung@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV