Job Market Candidates

The following Annenberg doctoral candidates and recent graduates are on the job market:

Recent Graduates

Elisa Baek, Ph.D.

National Science Foundation SBE Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Psychology & Department of Mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles
Dissertation Title: The Role of Mentalizing in Information Propagation
Faculty Advisors: Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella, Robert C. Hornik
elisabaek@gmail.com |​ Website |​ CV

Deepti Chittamuru, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Merced 
Dissertation Title: Persuasive Technologies and Entertainment-Education To Prevent HIV/AIDS
Faculty Advisors: John B. Jemmott III, Michael X. Delli Carpini, John L. Jackson, Jr., Amy Jordan
cdeepti@gmail.com |​ Website |​ CV

Christopher Cimaglio, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Carthage College
Dissertation Title: Contested Majority: The Representation of the White Working Class in US Politics from the 1930s to the 1990s
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn MarvinVictor PickardMichael X. Delli Carpini, Thomas Sugrue (NYU)
ccimaglio@carthage.edu

David Conrad, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Researcher, Center for Media and Social Impact, American University
Dissertation Title: Misguided Benevolence: How 'Moments of Need' Came to Motivate American Journalism
Faculty Advisors: Barbie Zelizer, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph Turow
dconrad@american.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Elisabetta Ferrari, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Center on Digital Culture and Society, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: The Technological Imaginaries of Social Movements: The Discursive Dimension of Communication Technology and the Fight for Social Justice
Faculty Advisors: Guobin Yang, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Jessa Lingel
elisabetta.ferrari@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Katerina Girginova, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: Social Media Events
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Sonia Livingstone (LSE), Guobin Yang, Victor Pickard
katerina@katerinag.com |​ Website |​ CV

Rowan Howard-Williams, Ph.D.

Communications Strategy Advisor, Global Diversity Foundation
Dissertation Title: A World of Our Own: Climate Change Advocacy in the Anthropocene
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Guobin Yang
rowanhw@gmail.com | CV

Emily Hund, Ph.D.

Research Affiliate, Center on Digital Culture and Society, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: The Influencer Industry: Constructing and Commodifying Authenticity on Social Media
Faculty Advisors: Joseph Turow, Barbie Zelizer, Victor Pickard
emily.hund@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Jin Woo Kim, Ph.D.

George Gerbner Postdoctoral Fellow, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: Assessing Civic Competence against the Normative Benchmark of Considered Opinions
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph N. Cappella, Devra Moehler, Diana C. Mutz
jin.woo.kim@dartmouth.edu | Website | CV

Minji Kim, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
Dissertation Title: When Similarity Strikes Back: The Positive and Negative Role of Smoker-Audience Similarity in Anti-Smoking Campaigns
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Emily Falk, Robert C. Hornik, John B. Jemmott III
minji.kim@ucsf.eduWebsite | CV

Elissa Kranzler, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Wharton Risk Management and Decision Processes Center, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: From Exposure to Effects: Examining the Cognitive Processes Underlying Effects of "The Real Cost" Youth-Targeted Anti-Smoking Media Campaign
Faculty Advisors: Robert C. Hornik, Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella
elissak@wharton.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Lee McGuigan, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Digital Life Initiative, Cornell Tech
Dissertation Title: Selling the American People: Data, Technology, and the Calculated Transformation of Advertising
Faculty Advisors: Joseph Turow, Oscar H. Gandy, Jr., Carolyn Marvin, Victor Pickard
ljm289@cornell.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Upcoming Graduates

Jennifer R. Henrichsen

Dissertation Title: Reactivity, Resistance and Repair: Journalistic Responses to the Challenges of Information Security Technologies Amidst Surveillance
Faculty Advisors: Barbie Zelizer, Victor Pickard, Jessa Lingel, Mike Ananny (USC Annenberg)
jennifer.henrichsen@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Pawel Popiel

Dissertation Title: Communicating Markets: The Politics of Competition in Communications Policy
Faculty Advisors: Victor Pickard, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph Turow, Hilde Van den Bulck (Drexel)
ppopiel@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Revati Prasad

Dissertation Title: Infrastructure of a Nation: Discourses of Connectivity in India
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Guobin Yang, Jessa Lingel
revati.prasad@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Kristin Shumaker

Dissertation Title: Shared Preferences and Neural Synchrony in Cultural Event Recommendation
Faculty Advisors: Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella, Sandra González-Bailón
kristin.shumaker@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Lori Young

Dissertation Title: Class Opinion Alignment: The Influence of Poverty Discourse on the Political Attitudes and Preferences of Low-Income Citizens
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Joseph N. Cappella, Matthew Brook O’Donnell
lyoung@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV