Job Market Candidates

The following Annenberg doctoral candidates and recent graduates are on the job market:

Recent Graduates

Joshua Becker, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Kellogg School of Management and the Northwestern Institute for Complex Systems, Northwestern University
Dissertation Title: Network Dynamics of Social Influence in the Wisdom of Crowds
Faculty Advisors: Damon Centola, Sandra González-Bailón, Michael X. Delli Carpini
joshua.becker@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Deepti Chittamuru, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Merced 
Dissertation Title: Persuasive Technologies and Entertainment-Education To Prevent HIV/AIDS
Faculty Advisors: John B. Jemmott III, Michael X. Delli Carpini, John L. Jackson, Jr., Amy Jordan
cdeepti@gmail.com |​ Website |​ CV

Christopher Cimaglio, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Carthage College
Dissertation Title: Contested Majority: The Representation of the White Working Class in US Politics from the 1930s to the 1990s
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn MarvinVictor PickardMichael X. Delli Carpini, Thomas Sugrue (NYU)
ccimaglio@asc.upenn.edu 
 |​ Website |​ CV

Rosemary Clark-Parsons, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: Doing It Ourselves: The Networked Politics of Feminist Media Activism
Faculty Advisors: Guobin Yang, Victor Pickard, Jessa Lingel, Sarah Banet-Weiser (USC)
rosemary.clark@asc.upenn.edu  |​ Website |​ CV

David Conrad, Ph.D.

Dissertation Title: Misguided Benevolence: How 'Moments of Need' Came to Motivate American Journalism
Faculty Advisors: Barbie Zelizer, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph Turow
dconrad@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Andrew Daniller, Ph.D.

George Gerbner Postdoctoral Fellow at the Annenberg School for Communication
Dissertation Title: Politics as Sport: The Effects of Partisan Media on Perceptions of Electoral Legitimacy
Faculty Advisors: Diana C. MutzJoseph N. CappellaMichael X. Delli Carpini
adaniller@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website | CV

Katerina Girginova, Ph.D.

Doctoral Fellow, Center for Advanced Research in Global Communication, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: Social Media Events
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Sonia Livingstone (LSE), Guobin Yang, Victor Pickard
katerina.girginova@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Rowan Howard-Williams, Ph.D.

Communications Strategy Advisor, Global Diversity Foundation
Dissertation Title: A World of Our Own: Climate Change Advocacy in the Anthropocene
Faculty Advisors: Marwan M. Kraidy, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Guobin Yang
rowanhw@gmail.com | CV

Michelle Jeong, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of North Carolina School of Public Health
Dissertation Title: Sharing in the Context of Tobacco and E-cigarette Communication: Determinants, Consequences, and Contingent Effects
Faculty Advisors: Robert C. Hornik, Joseph N. Cappella, Emily Falk
mjeong@email.unc.edu |​ Website | CV​

Jin Woo Kim, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at Dartmouth College
Dissertation Title: Assessing Civic Competence against the Normative Benchmark of Considered Opinions
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph N. Cappella, Devra Moehler, Diana C. Mutz
jin.woo.kim@dartmouth.edu | Website | CV

Minji Kim, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
Dissertation Title: When Similarity Strikes Back: The Positive and Negative Role of Smoker-Audience Similarity in Anti-Smoking Campaigns
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Emily Falk, Robert C. Hornik, John B. Jemmott III
minji.kim@ucsf.eduWebsite | CV

Elissa Kranzler, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, Wharton Risk Management and Decision Processes Center, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: From Exposure to Effects: Examining the Cognitive Processes Underlying Effects of "The Real Cost" Youth-Targeted Anti-Smoking Media Campaign
Faculty Advisors: Robert C. Hornik, Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella
elissak@wharton.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Stella (Juhyun) Lee, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Dissertation Title: The Message as a Seed: Predicting the Diffusion of Smoking-Related Discourse from Message Construal Level
Faculty Advisors: Robert C. Hornik, Joseph N. Cappella, Emily Falk
sjlee.asc.upenn@gmail.com | Website | CV

Tim Libert, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Oxford
Dissertation Title: Track the Planet: A Web-Scale Analysis of How Online Behavioral Advertising Violates Social Norms
Faculty Advisors: Victor Pickard, Joseph Turow, Guobin Yang, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Jonathan M. Smith (Penn Engineering & Computer and Information Science)
tlibert@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Debora Lui, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education
Dissertation Title: Situating Educational Makerspaces: Enacting the Maker ‘Ideal’ within the Diverse Contexts of Public Libraries
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn Marvin, Yasmin Kafai (Penn GSE), John L. Jackson, Jr., Guobin Yang
deblui@gmail.com |​ Website |​ CV

Eleanor Marchant, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Programme in Comparative Media Law & Policy at the Center for Legal Studies, Oxford University
Dissertation Title: Anyone Anywhere: Narrating African Innovation in a Global Community of Practice
Faculty Advisors: John L. Jackson, Jr., Monroe Price, Guobin Yang, Jonathan Donner (Caribou Digital)
eleanor.marchant@csls.ox.ac.uk |​ Website |​ CV

Yotam Ophir, Ph.D.

Joan Bossert Postdoctoral Fellow in Science of Science Communication, Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania
Dissertation Title: Spreading News: The Coverage of Pandemics by American Newspapers and its Effects on Audiences -  A Crisis Communication Approach
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Robert C. Hornik
yotam.ophir@appc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Aaron Shapiro, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Annenberg School for Communication
Dissertation Title: Design, Control, Predict: Cultural Politics in the Actually Existing Smart City
Faculty Advisors: Carolyn MarvinMarwan M. KraidyJohn L. Jackson, Jr., Jessa Lingel, Mimi Sheller (Drexel)
ashapiro@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Upcoming Graduates

Elisa Baek

Dissertation Title: The Role of Mentalizing in Information Propagation
Faculty Advisors: Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella, Robert C. Hornik
elisa.baek@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Kecheng Fang

Dissertation Title: Mapping Media Bias in China
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Guobin Yang, Diana C. Mutz, Sandra González-Bailón
kfang@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Elisabetta Ferrari

Dissertation Title: The Technological Imaginaries of Social Movements
Faculty Advisors: Guobin Yang, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Jessa Lingel
elisabetta.ferrari@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Emily Hund

Dissertation Title: Industrializing Authenticity: The Construction and Cultivation of Social Media Influencers
Faculty Advisors: Joseph Turow, Barbie Zelizer, Victor Pickard
emily.hund@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Danny Kim

Dissertation Title: Seeking Ourselves Onscreen - Brand Personality, Self-Congruence, and Media Preferences
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Joseph N. Cappella, Sandra González-Bailón
dkim@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Eunji Kim

Joint Ph.D. Candidate in Communication and Political Science
Dissertation Title: Entertaining Belief in Economic Mobility
Faculty Advisors: Diana C. Mutz, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Yphtach Lelkes, Daniel J. Hopkins, Matthew Levendusky, Marc Meredith
eunjikim@upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Lee McGuigan

Dissertation Title: Selling the American People: Data, Technology, and the Calculated Transformation of Advertising
Faculty Advisors: Joseph Turow, Oscar H. Gandy, Jr., Carolyn Marvin, Victor Pickard
lee.mcguigan@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Kristin Shumaker

Dissertation Title: Shared Preferences and Neural Synchrony in Cultural Event Recommendation
Faculty Advisors: Emily Falk, Joseph N. Cappella, Sandra González-Bailón
kristin.shumaker@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Rachel N. Stonecipher

Dissertation Title: What's in a Word? Communicating Butch and Femme Politics in Scholarship, 1980s-2010s
Faculty Advisors: Sharrona Pearl, Jessa Lingel, John L. Jackson, Jr.
rachelst@upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Allyson Volinsky

Dissertation Title: Variation on a Theme: Comparing Strategies for Choosing Health Communication Campaign Message Topics
Faculty Advisors: Robert C. Hornik, Joseph N. Cappella, Emily Falk
allyson.volinsky@asc.upenn.edu |​ Website |​ CV

Sijia Yang

Dissertation Title: Persuasive Effects of Moral Appeals: Message Production, Social Dynamics
and Misconception Correction
Faculty Advisors: Joseph N. Cappella, Damon Centola, Sandra González-Bailón, Michael X. Delli Carpini
syang@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV

Lori Young

Dissertation Title: Class Opinion Alignment: The Influence of Poverty Discourse on the Political Attitudes and Preferences of Low-Income Citizens
Faculty Advisors: Michael X. Delli Carpini, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Joseph N. Cappella, Matthew Brook O’Donnell
lyoung@asc.upenn.edu | Website | CV