2019 Undergraduate Communication Major Award Winners

Nine graduating seniors were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments.

On Sunday, May 19, the Annenberg School for Communication held its annual undergraduate graduation ceremony, honoring the Communication majors graduating from the University of Pennsylvania. This year's graduation speaker was alumnus Dylan Hewitt (C'14, G'15). In addition to recognizing each graduate, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies Felicity (Litty) Paxton presented the following awards.

Annenberg School Awards

Charles Morris Price Prize: José A. Carreras Tartak

This award acknowledges an outstanding graduating Communication major who has most distinguished themselves through a combination of academic excellence, research accomplishments, and/or contributions to Annenberg’s academic objectives.

Hon. Walter H. Annenberg Award: Valerie J. Toledo and Amber Williams

Named in honor of Annenberg’s founder, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major who has most strengthened and improved the University of Pennsylvania’s student community through Communication service activities.

C. Nicole Dickerson Award: Benjamin Rafael Friedman

Named in memory of former undergraduate advisor C. Nicole Dickerson, this public service award is given to a graduating Communication major who has made a significant contribution to our neighbors in the West Philadelphia community.

Phyllis C. Kaniss Award: James F. Hiebert

Named in memory of former assistant dean Phyllis C. Kaniss, this award is presented to a graduating Communication major who has demonstrated a commitment to civic participation through meaningful action around issues of public concern, including individual actions or actions undertaken through organizations on or off campus.

Carolyn Marvin Award for Free Speech and Assembly: James Anthony Meadows

Named for Emeritus Professor Carolyn Marvin, this award is given to a graduating Communication major who — through curricular, co-curricular, or extra-curricular activities — has done the most to advance our understanding of the importance of free speech and assembly in a democratic society.

Michael X. Delli Carpini Award: Kara Leigh Roche

Newly named for former dean Michael X. Delli Carpini, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major who has completed an outstanding thesis in the Communication and Public Service program on a topic related to public policy or public service.

George Gerbner Award: James F. Hiebert

Named for former dean George Gerbner, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major whose thesis best demonstrates an original and comprehensive application of research skills as well as a thorough understanding of communication scholarship.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson Award: Amanda Damon and Erin Elizabeth Farrell

Named for former dean Kathleen Hall Jamieson, this award honors a graduating Communication major with the highest cumulative grade point average in the major.

Graduates and faculty seated in chairs on a stage

University of Pennsylvania Awards

The following graduating Communication majors received awards from the University of Pennsylvania and were acknowledged in the graduation program.

Thouron Award

Nicholas T. Joyner

Rose Research Award

James F. Hiebert

Bodek Prize

Amanda Damon

Phi Beta Kappa

  • Amanda Damon
  • Erin Elizabeth Farrell
  • James F. Hiebert
  • Nicholas T. Joyner
  • Reina Leigh Kern

Congratulations to the award winners and to all of our 2019 graduates!

Click here to see photos of the event.