Dolores Albarracín Named 2023 American Academy for the Advancement of Science Fellow

Albarracín is being recognized for her contributions to social psychology, public health, and science communication.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has announced that Alexandra Heyman Nash University Professor Dolores Albarracín has been elected to their new class of Fellows, along with five other Penn scholars.

Election as an AAAS Fellow is among the highest honors in the scientific community, recognizing the excellence of the Fellows’ work and placing them among some of the most revolutionary minds in the field of science.

AAAS Fellows are nominated and elected by current AAAS members for their unique contributions to the scientific enterprise and their potential for future innovation. 

Albarracín is being recognized for her contributions to social psychology, public health, and particularly the spread of infectious diseases worldwide and for the effective communication of science to the public.

A Penn Integrates Knowledge Professor with appointments in the Annenberg School for Communication, School of Arts & Sciences, School of Nursing, and Wharton School, Albarracín is the director of the Social Action Lab as well as the Annenberg Public Policy Center’s Science of Science Communication Division.

As a social psychologist who studies social cognition, attitudes, and behavioral change, Albarracín has published six books and nearly 200 journal articles. She is a fellow of the American Psychological Association, Association for Psychological Science, Society for Experimental Social Psychology, and American Academy of Political and Social Science and the editor of the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology: Attitudes and Social Cognition. The Society of Social and Personality Psychology, of which Albarracín is past president, recognized her with the Award for Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Research on Attitudes and Social Influence in 2018 and the Diener Award in Social Psychology in 2020.

Other 2023 AAAS Fellows from Penn include T. Tony Cai, Noam A. Cohen, Shu Yang, Edward A. Stadtmauer, and Michael Lampson. The full list of 2023 AAAS Fellows can be found on the AAAS website.


Research Areas