Mutz Wins Doris Graber Award from American Political Science Association

Professor Diana C. Mutz standing in front of TV screens showing political news programs
Research Area: 

Annenberg Professor Diana C. Mutz has won the 2017 Doris Graber Award from the American Political Science Association (APSA) for her book In Your Face Politics: The Consequences of Uncivil Media (Princeton University Press, 2015). This award recognizes the best book published on political communication in the last ten years.

The Samuel A. Stouffer Professor of Political Science and Communication at the University of Pennsylvania, Mutz studies public opinion, political psychology, and mass political behavior, with an emphasis on political communication. She is widely published and has won many awards for her work. She recently received a 2016 Guggenheim Fellowship and a 2017 Carnegie Fellowship to fund her continued research.

In Your Face Politics examines whether watching politicians and pundits yelling at one another on television actually makes a difference in the minds of Americans. Drawing on numerous studies, Mutz documents both the benefits and the drawbacks of this kind of in-your-face media.

Mutz is the only two-time winner of the Doris Graber Award. She first won in 2004 for her book Impersonal Influence: How Perceptions of Mass Collectives Affect Political Attitudes (Cambridge University Press, 1998).

In addition to the Doris Graber Award, Mutz was also the recipient of the 2016 David O. Sears Book Award from the International Society of Political Psychology for In Your Face Politics. In addition, the book was a finalist for the 2015 Frank Luther Mott – Kappa Tau Alpha Journalism and Mass Communication Research Award, and it was one of Choice’s Outstanding Academic Titles for 2015.

Other Annenberg School winners of the Doris Graber Award include Professor Joseph Cappella and Professor Kathleen Hall Jamieson for their book Spiral of Cynicism: The Press and the Public Good (Oxford University Press, 1997).