Cyberwar Wins NCA’s 2019 Roderick P. Hart Outstanding Book Award

This is the second time Jamieson has received the Hart Award.

By the Annenberg Public Policy Center

Professor Kathleen Hall Jamieson‘s book Cyberwar has won the Roderick P. Hart Outstanding Book Award from the Political Communication Division of the National Communication Association (NCA).

The NCA presented its awards last weekend in Baltimore at the group’s annual conference. The Political Communication Division announced that the Hart Award was being presented to two volumes for 2019: Jamieson’s Cyberwar: How Russian Hackers and Trolls Helped Elect a President and Votes That Count and Voters Who Don’t by Sharon E. Jarvis and Soo-Hye Han.

Mitchell S. McKinney, Ph.D., of the University of Missouri, who chaired the Hart Award jury, described Cyberwar as “a truly significant book” which “examines the ways in which Russian intervention not only affected the behaviors of key players but altered the 2016 campaign’s news media and social media landscape.”

The Hart Award has been presented annually since 2007.

Jamieson, who is the director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, previously won the Rod Hart Outstanding Book Award in 2012 for The Obama Victory: How Media, Money, and Message Shaped the 2008 Election, coauthored with Kate Kenski and Bruce W. Hardy. She also is the author or co-author of 14 other books, including the award-winning books Packaging the PresidencyEloquence in an Electronic AgeSpiral of CynicismPresidents Creating the Presidency, and The Obama Victory.

Cyberwar previously won the R.R. Hawkins Award from the Association of American Publishers, the top prize among its annual PROSE Awards. The publishers group also awarded Cyberwar the 2019 PROSE Award of Excellence in the Social Sciences and named it the subject category winner in Government, Policy and Politics.

The book was listed among the Times Literary Supplement’s Books of the Year 2018 and named to the Guardian’s list of the top 10 books about fake news.

Cyberwar, published by Oxford University Press in October 2018, is being issued in a second edition early in 2020.

Media Contact

Michael Rozansky
(215) 746-0202