Congratulations to Annenberg’s 2024 Ph.D. and M.A. Graduates

Thirteen students earned their doctoral degrees, and fifteen students received M.A. degrees.



Yesterday, the Annenberg School for Communication held its annual doctoral graduation ceremony. The in-person celebration honored Annenberg's 2024 Ph.D. and M.A. recipients.

The ceremony recognized the following thirteen students who earned their doctoral degrees in Communication, listed with their dissertation titles:

Mary E. Andrews  "Health Equity in Tobacco Control Through an Intersectionality Framework: Examining the Compounding Effects of Minority Stressors and Tobacco Advertising"
David S. Cordero "Where Can We Get Help? Examining Attitudinal Factors and Message Selection Methods to Promote Young Adult Mental Health Treatment Seeking"
Antoine Haywood "Focused in the Frame: An Autoethnographic Reflection on African American Community Participation in Philadelphia Public Access Television"
Darin Johnson "Communicating in the Face of Oppression: The Antecedents of Code Switching and Consequences of (Linguistic) Racism among Black Americans"
Helene Langlamet  "Living Under the Rule of the Growth Machine: How the Growth Ethic Structures Consent to the Fossil Fuel Industry in Southwestern Pennsylvania"
Sophie Maddocks "Platformed Girlhood: How Online Harassment Shapes Girls’ Identity, Privacy, and Speech"
Florence Zivaishe Madenga "Taking Satire Journalism Seriously: Living and Laughing to Bring the State Down?"
Brendan Mahoney "The Platformization of Ideology: How Left- and Right-wing Social Movements Perform Intellectual Work on Reddit"
Fallon Alexandria Parfaite "The Intersection of Identity and Algorithm: How Black Users Co-Produce Their Online Selves on TikTok"
Melissa Skolnick-Noguera "Cultural Arts Networks in Philadelphia: The Impact of Praxis and Discourse on Politics and Policy"
Jeanna Sybert "Risky Reporting: Journalistic Precarity Amidst Pandemic, Protests, and Insurrection"
Ryan Tsapatasaris "Academic Cancel Cultures: Social Media as Peer Reviewer?"
Andrew Wirzburger "The Video Game Industries' Hidden Curriculum: People Power and the Politics of Insurgent"

Congratulations are also in order to the following Annenberg students who have earned their M.A. in Communication en route to the completion of their doctoral degrees:

  • Anjali DasSarma
  • Christiana Dillard
  • Timothy Dorr
  • Tom Etienne
  • Sim Gill
  • Calvin Isch
  • Ben Muzekari
  • Kate Okker-Edging
  • Devo Probol
  • Valentina Proust Iligaray
  • Taylor Smith 
  • Silvia Téliz Martínez 
  • Natasha Jade Williams
  • Qijia Ye
  • Nya Mbock

In addition, Valentina Proust, Taylor Smith, and Azsaneé Truss were recognized with the James D. Woods Award for outstanding teaching by a graduate assistant.