Mutz Wins 2019 AAPOR Book Award

Professor Diana C. Mutz standing in front of TV screens showing political news programs
Research Area: 

Professor Diana C. Mutz was recently named the winner of the 2019 Book Award from the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) for her book Hearing the Other Side: Deliberative versus Participatory Democracy (Cambridge 2006). She will be recognized at AAPOR's 74th Annual Conference, held in Toronto next month.

Religion and politics, as the old saying goes, should never be discussed in mixed company. And yet fostering discussions that cross lines of political difference has long been a central concern of political theorists. Hearing the Other Side examines how and with what consequences Americans interact with those whose political views differ from their own.

The AAPOR Book Award recognizes books that have influenced our understanding of public opinion or survey methodology. To be eligible for the award, a book must have been published at least three years prior. Hearing the Other Side was selected unanimously by the Book Award committee, and is being honored for the way it grapples with tough issues and uses data to illuminate problems and contradictions.

Samuel A. Stouffer Chair in Political Science and Communication, Mutz researches public opinion, political psychology, and mass political behavior, with an emphasis on political communication. She is the recipient of a 2017 Carnegie Fellowship, a 2016 Guggenheim Fellowship, and a 2011 Lifetime Career Achievement Award from the American Political Science Association. She has published six books and received numerous book awards.

Other Annenberg winners of the AAPOR Book Award include Professor Michael X. Delli Carpini for his book What Americans Know about Politics and Why It Matters (Yale 1996) in 2007.