2020 Undergraduate Communication Major Award Winners

Seven graduating seniors were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments.

On Sunday, May 17, the Annenberg School for Communication held its annual undergraduate graduation ceremony, honoring the Communication majors graduating from the University of Pennsylvania. This year's graduation speaker was alumna Katie Koeblitz (C'09). In addition to recognizing each graduate, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies Felicity (Litty) Paxton presented the following awards.

Hon. Walter H. Annenberg Award: Nathaniel Robert Donnell Morris
Named in honor of Annenberg’s founder, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major who has most strengthened and improved the University of Pennsylvania’s student community through Communication service activities.

C. Nicole Dickerson Award: Fahad Ahmed
Named in memory of former undergraduate advisor C. Nicole Dickerson, this public service award is given to a graduating Communication major who has made a significant contribution to our neighbors in the West Philadelphia community.

Phyllis C. Kaniss Award: Hadeel Marwan Saab
Named in memory of former assistant dean Phyllis C. Kaniss, this award is presented to a graduating Communication major who has demonstrated a commitment to civic participation through meaningful action around issues of public concern, including individual actions or actions undertaken through organizations on or off campus.

Michael X. Delli Carpini Award: Lilianna Gurry
Newly named for former dean Michael X. Delli Carpini, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major who has completed an outstanding thesis in the Communication and Public Service program on a topic related to public policy or public service.

George Gerbner Award: Maura Sloan Fay
Named for former dean George Gerbner, this award recognizes a graduating Communication major whose thesis best demonstrates an original and comprehensive application of research skills as well as a thorough understanding of communication scholarship.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson Award: Tiffany Wang and Karen Yang
Named for former dean Kathleen Hall Jamieson, this award honors a graduating Communication major(s) with the highest cumulative grade point average in the major.

Charles Morris Price Prize: Tiffany Wang
This award acknowledges an outstanding graduating Communication major who has most distinguished themselves through a combination of academic excellence, research accomplishments, and/or contributions to Annenberg’s academic objectives.

The following graduating Communication majors received awards from the University of Pennsylvania and were acknowledged in the graduation program.

Rose Research Award: Karen Yang

Penn SAS Dean's Scholar: Fahad Ahmed

Phi Beta Kappa

  • Fahad Ahmed
  • José Carreras-Tartak (C'19)
  • Maura Sloan Fay
  • Toni Denise Walker
  • Tiffany Wang
  • Karen Yang

Congratulations to the award winners and to all of our 2020 graduates!