Jackson, Kraidy, Price, and Yang Named ICA Fellows

ICA Fellows are chosen for their distinguished scholarly contributions to the field of Communication.

By Ashton Yount

Four Annenberg School for Communication faculty members have been named Fellows by the International Communication Association. Dean John L. Jackson, Jr. and Professors Marwan M. Kraidy, Monroe Price, and Guobin Yang were four of the 31 notable scholars inducted as ICA Fellows during the 2020 Annual Conference.

ICA Fellows are chosen by the strength of their distinguished scholarly contributions to the broad field of Communication. The primary consideration for nomination to Fellow status is a documented record of scholarly achievement. Secondary consideration is given to such criteria as service to ICA and socially or professionally significant service to other publics such as business, government, or education.

John L. Jackson, Jr. is Walter H. Annenberg Dean and Richard Perry University Professor. His research examines ethnographic methods in media analysis, the impact of mass media on urban life, media-making as a form of community-building and knowledge production, globalization and the remaking of ethnic/racial diasporas, visual studies, urban anthropology, critical race theory, and ethnographic film.

Marwan M. Kraidy is Professor of Communication and the Anthony Shadid Chair in Global Media, Politics & Culture; Associate Dean of Administration; and Director of the Center for Advanced Research in Global Communication. He studies the relationship between culture and geopolitics, theories of identity and modernity, and global media systems and industries.

John L. Jackson, Jr.; Marwan M. Kraidy; Monroe Price; and Guobin Yang
(L to R): John L. Jackson, Jr.; Marwan M. Kraidy; Monroe Price; and Guobin Yang

Monroe E. Price is an Adjunct Full Professor at the Annenberg School and the Joseph and Sadie Danciger Professor of Law and Director of the Howard M. Squadron Program in Law, Media and Society at the Cardozo School of Law at Yeshiva University. His interests include international education and training in comparative media law and policy.

Guobin Yang is Grace Lee Boggs Professor of Communication and Sociology; Associate Dean for Graduate Studies; and Director of the Center on Digital Culture and Society. His research focuses on social movements, online activism, digital culture, cultural sociology, historical sociology, critical theory, global communication, environmental communication, and media and politics in China.

Candidates are nominated by ICA members, and must receive a majority vote from current Fellows, and approval by the Board of Directors, in order to achieve Fellows status. Just 212 scholars have received this honor to date. Jackson, Kraidy, Price, and Yang make 12 current or emeritus Annenberg faculty members who have been inducted as ICA Fellows. The others include Joseph N. Cappella, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Robert C. Hornik, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Elihu Katz, Klaus Krippendorff, Joseph Turow, and Barbie Zelizer.

Due to the 2020 Annual Conference being held virtually, 2020 ICA Fellow inductees will be honored in person next year, along with 2021 inductees.