Jordan, Wilkins, and Nabi Inducted as ICA Fellows


Three Annenberg alumnae have been named as Fellows by the International Communication Association. Amy Jordan (Ph.D. ’90), Robin Nabi (Ph.D. ’98), and Karin Wilkins (Ph.D. ’91) were three of the 18 scholars inducted as ICA Fellows on Saturday at ICA’s 2017 Annual Conference in San Diego.

ICA Fellows are chosen by the strength of their distinguished scholarly contributions to the broad field of Communication.

Amy Jordan is an Adjunct Full Professor at Annenberg and its Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies. A leading scholar in the area of children and media, Jordan is the author of two books, four edited volumes, and 49 peer-reviewed articles, among other writing. She is co-editor of the Journal of Children and Media. Jordan was the founding member and Chair of ICA’s Children, Adolescents and Media Division and served as ICA’s president in 2015-16.

Karin Wilkins Amy Jordan.jpg
Karin Wilkins (left) and Amy Jordan

Robin Nabi is a Professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara, specializing in the interplay between emotion and cognition in understanding the effects of mediated messages. Specific interests include the effects of discrete emotions on the cognitive processing and persuasive effect of social issue/health messages, the role of emotion in perception of risk and decision-making, and the effects of entertainment media on attitude and behavior change. She has authored or co-authored more than 70 articles and book chapters and is an associate editor at the Journal of Communication

Robin Nabi.jpg
Robin Nabi

Karin Wilkins is John P. McGovern Regents Professor and Associate Dean at the University of Texas, Austin. She is a leading scholar on global media, particularly in development communication, gender, Middle East studies, and communication for social justice and change. She was a visiting scholar at Annenberg last Fall with the Scholars Program in Culture and Communication and is the Editor-in-Chief of Communication Theory. Wilkins is the author or editor of 12 books, 33 peer-reviewed articles, 16 book chapters, and numerous research reports.

Just 121 scholars had been named ICA Fellows prior to this year. Jordan is the ninth Annenberg faculty member to be named to the prestigious group. The others include Joseph N. Cappella, the late George Gerbner, Robert C. Hornik, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Elihu Katz, Klaus Krippendorff, Joseph Turow, and Barbie Zelizer.